top of page

Saunders Starts the Year off with a Splash!

Yanet Tessema, contributer



The Saunders Swim Team has made its return this year. The group heard the official announcement of who made the team on Monday, November 28. There are currently 36 swimmers training for their competition season which will kick off with the Mike Williams Invitational on Jan 19, 2023.


Next up will be the TVRAA Championship, running Feb. 8 to 9 and the WOSSA Championship on Feb. 15. All competitions take place at the Canada Games Aquatic Centre(CG


AC). If a student makes it through all these competitions, their final will be the OFSAA Championship on Feb. 28 and Mar. 1, 2023, in Windsor, ON.




The swim team held their tryouts at Bostwick in mid to late November this year. They ended the tryout week off with a workout in the weight room.


When asked about the team, Grade 11 member, Rachel Sidebotham, said, “I joined [the] swim team because I’ve always been in the water, my whole life. I’m a lifeguard, and I love it. Swimming has always been quite fun for me. So I’m doing it more for the enjoyment, not for the competitive [side] but you know, I am competitive[ly] spirited so we’ll see how that goes”.


Another Grade 11 member, Madeline Wood, says, “swim team is a great way to challenge yourself and have fun at the same time! It’s such a strong team and I always look forward to practice.”


This is an opportunity for the Saunders Sabres to get active, healthier, and learn new swimming tips and tricks. Come to watch them on their competition days and show our swimmers your Sabre support.




88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page